Inetrnational Centre of the Roerichs

International Non-Governmental Organization | Special consultative status with UN ECOSOC
Associate member with UN DPI | Institutional member of International Council of Museums (ICOM)
Member of pan-European Federation for Cultural Heritage EUROPA NOSTRA | Associate member with INTO

Roerichs' familyRoerichs' evolutionary actionsMuseum named after Nicholas RoerichPublishing activity
Scientific enlightment workProtection of the Roerichs' name and heritageICR: general information
NewsContacts

      рус  eng    
 
printer friendly
PAGES  The Roerich Pact|Relevance of the Roerich Pact in the modern world: 1234Notes|75 years of the Roerich Pact

“We are grieving over the loss of Louvain’s library,” Nicholas Roerich wrote with bitterness in 1930, “and the irreplaceable beauty of the cathedrals of Reims and Ieper. We remember the multitude of treasures of private collections that were lost at the time of the world’s troubles, but we do not want to inscribe words of hostility. Let us just say ‘Destroyed by human misapprehension and restored by human hope.’ But still, fatal mistakes in this form or another can be repeated, and new multitudes of monuments to human deeds can be destroyed again.”[12, p.103] His anticipation came true. World War II leveled to the ground very precious monuments of Culture, destroyed a great number of priceless pieces of art, devastated the ancient carriers of spiritual energetics. And N. Roerich turned out to have be right in his anticipation, and not only in his anticipation, but in his global action which he undertook a few years before the beginning of World War II. This was the creation of Roerich’s Pact, famous throughout the entire world, aimed at the protection of cultural values in periods of military operations and in times of peace. Nicholas Roerich believed that the Pact imposed obligations not only on the nations that signed it, but on society as a whole. Roerich’s Pact had a broad character and counted to a certain extent on a mass movement for the protection of Culture. “We shall not be tired to keep saying,” he wrote, “that, beside government recognition, the active participation of the public is needed. Cultural values decorate and elevate all of life in all its manifestations. And that is why active concern for them must be shown by everyone.”[13, p.142] Roerich asserted that “a public element should lie at the basis of a common cause.”[14, p.131] It is hard to overestimate the importance of this idea. Only society as a whole can do something real for culture, for it is society, and not the powers that be, that is its carrier, it is society, and not state officials, that can truly organize the protection of culture. Culture itself, being a space of free creation, has public and traditional roots. Culture is created by society and for society.

“Beside governmental resolutions,” N. Roerich wrote regarding the Pact, “it is public opinion that is the first protector of the national treasures that have world significance.”[15, p.163]

He paid special attention to this kind of activity among the Russian people possessing rich cultural heritage. “The Russian people,” the artist pointed out, “as an heir of a glorious future, must become special protectors of Culture.”16 What did the words “special protectors of Culture” mean? It is known that in the thirties, a destructive process under the name of “cultural revolution” was underway in the USSR. At that terrible time, thousands and thousands of monuments of culture were destroyed senselessly and heartlessly by the authorities’ instruction. Roerich made a protest against it.

Destruction of Jesus the Savior Cathedral in Moscow

The destruction of the Cathedral of Christ the Savior in Moscow aroused a most negative reaction in him, which he could not keep to himself. “The powers that be! Say firmly and resolutely that such devastations are inadmissible. […] The powers that be! Say louder and louder that the destruction of cultural treasures is inadmissible and will forever place the destroyer on a list of shame.”[17, p.141]. But authorities in his Motherland kept silent and did not pay attention to either his appeals, nor to the International Pact for the protection of cultural values, which they refused to sign. Helena Roerich, outstanding philosopher and public figure, repeated Nicholas Roerich’s words. She wrote of a new epoch in which Culture would dominate, emphasized the extreme necessity for its protection in those spheres in which it was not only violated, but also destroyed. “Fight with all your power, fight for your rights in the name of the common benefit, in the name of culture! Half-measures are always destructive. Demand a complete victory. Complete liberation, so that all means be directed at the expansion of the culture of the country! Actions, great actions are needed now.”[18, p.93] The appeal, written by Helena Roerich as long ago as 1931, has not lost its urgency today. The authorities in Russia were changed long ago, and many things have changed in the country in the recent years. But the significance of Culture is still not well understood, still actions causing damage to Culture are undertaken, still urgent is the problem of the protection of Culture. Roerich’s Pact not only remains a burning issue, but acquires even acuter character today, requiring a solution both at the level of the authorities and at the level of the public itself. The Russian authorities do not go into processes taking place in the space of culture and do not try to comprehend them, but just follow blindly the tendencies formed in it. In these authorities’ cultural policy, the above-mentioned domination of civilization shows itself clearly enough. The Russian authorities, due to their narrow-mindedness and often just ignorance, their lack of understanding of the role of culture and its significance for the country’s general development, set forth as a priority not culture as such, but civilization, issues separated from culture. So, the general policy of our authorities is first of all directed at material, social, and economic problems. They are not aware that this policy’s current lack of success is caused by the attitude towards culture, which proceeds from the “leftover principle.” At the same time, public opinion which is now being formed in Russia, also does not always pay due attention to the situation in culture. Historically, it has so happened that comprehension of the essence of culture and the urgent need for its protection has been understood by just a few people. There is no clear understanding that the renaissance of Russia is first of all determined by the protection and development of culture. The government playing with the so-called national idea strikes with its illiteracy, and at times absurdity. All kinds of phenomena are suggested to form this idea, including sports, in particular, soccer. And none of those who have real power has ever mentioned culture in connection with it. A national idea cannot be created in three months, as former President of Russia Boris Yeltsin once demanded. It is developed for centuries, and only in this form can serve as a stable uniting factor. What but culture can become such an idea? Its powerful spiritual energetics like a magnet bring together the country’s national interests that form its future.

“Now our camp is in the middle of a desert,” N. Roerich wrote in an expedition diary. “Once, someone, through lack of knowledge, destroyed vast forests, remainders of which we saw. After the forests, the grass was gone. And the water escaped into the ground. Desert! Exactly like this, anything can be destroyed through ignorance and malice. And who will need this desert, material or spiritual. [...] The powers that be, say resolutely! Repeat it again, and keep talking about peace and creation.”[19, p.141-142]

This is a surprisingly precise image of culture – a forest keeping the environment in balance and providing all the necessary elements for its vital processes. The forest chopped down, everything turned into a fruitless desert. The “chopping” or destruction of culture has the same significance for society. There are creators of culture, and there are destroyers of culture. In today’s Russia, the number of the latter is continually growing. These destroyers include officials of all kinds and positions, who have many destructions on their accounts. They acquire cultural objects for purposes having nothing to do with culture, the authorities’ representatives issue permits for the liquidation of cultural monuments, the State Parliament (Duma) deputies pass laws against culture without thinking of the consequences of their ignorant acts. The Orthodox church hierarchs who campaign against the Roerichs as creators of culture should be mentioned among this number, as well.

PAGES  The Roerich Pact|Relevance of the Roerich Pact in the modern world: 1234Notes|75 years of the Roerich Pact

Международный Центр Рерихов - Международный Центр-Музей имени Н.К. Рериха

Международная общественная организация | Специальный консультативный статус при ЭКОСОС ООН
Ассоциированный член ДОИ ООН | Ассоциированный член Международной Организации Национальных Трастов
Коллективный член Международного совета музеев (ИКОМ) | Член Всеевропейской федерации по культурному наследию «ЕВРОПА НОСТРА»

Семья РериховЭволюционные действия РериховМузей имени Н.К. РерихаТворческие отделыМеждународные конференции
Культурно-просветительская работаЗащита имени и наследия РериховМЦР: общие сведенияСотрудничествоПомощь Музею

Главная страница » Эволюционные действия Рерихов » Пакт Рериха » Актуальность Пакта Рериха в современном мире
      рус  eng
версия для печати
СТРАНИЦЫ  1234|Знамя Мира|Основное меню
 

«Мы оплакиваем библиотеку Лувена, – с болью писал в 1930 году Николай Константинович Рерих, – и незаменимые красоты соборов Реймса и Ипра. Мы помним множества сокровищ частных собраний, погибших во время мировых смятений, но мы не хотим вписывать слова враждебности. Скажем просто – «Разрушено человеческим заблуждением и восстановлено человеческой надеждою». Но все же пагубные заблуждения в той или иной форме могут быть повторены, и новые множества памятников человеческих подвигов могут быть опять разрушены»12. Его предчувствие оправдалось. Вторая мировая война снесла с лица Земли ценнейшие памятники Культуры, уничтожила огромное количество бесценных художественных произведений, разрушила древнейшие носители духовной энергетики. И Н.К. Рерих оказался прав в своем предчувствии, и не только в предчувствии, но и в своем глобальном действии, которое он предпринял за несколько лет до начала новой мировой войны. Это был известный на весь мир Пакт Рериха по защите культурных ценностей в период военных действий и в мирное время. Николай Константинович считал, что этот Пакт налагал обязательства не только на государства, его подписавшие, но и на общество в целом. Пакт Рериха имел широкий характер и был рассчитан в какой-то мере на массовое движение в защиту Культуры. «Не устанем твердить, – писал он, – что, кроме государственного признания, нужно деятельное участие общественности. Культурные ценности украшают и возвышают всю жизнь от мала до велика. И потому деятельная забота о них должна быть проявлена всеми»13. Рерих утверждал, что «общественное начало должно лежать в основе общего дела»14. Трудно переоценить важность этой мысли. Только общество в целом может реально сделать что-либо для культуры, ибо оно, а не власть предержащие являются ее носителями, оно, а не государственные чиновники, может реально организовать защиту культуры. Сама культура, будучи пространством свободного творчества, имеет общественные и народные корни. Культура создается обществом и для общества.

«Кроме правительственных распоряжений, – писал Н.К. Рерих в связи с Пактом, – именно общественное мнение является первым охранителем национальных сокровищ, имеющих всемирное значение»15.

Особое внимание он уделил такой деятельности в среде русского народа, обладавшего богатым культурным наследием. «Русский народ, – отмечал художник, – как наследник славного будущего должен стать особым защитником Культуры»16. Что значили слова «особый защитник культуры»? Известно, что в СССР в 30-е годы шел разрушительный процесс под названием «культурная революция». В это страшное время разрушались бессмысленно и бездушно, по указанию властей, тысячи и тысячи памятников культуры. Рерих выступил с протестом против этого.

Разрушение Храма Христа Спасителя в Москве
Уничтожение Храма Христа Спасителя в Москве вызвало у него самую негативную реакцию, о которой он не смог смолчать. «Власть имущие! Скажите твердо и решительно, что подобные разрушения недопустимы. <…> Власть имущие! Скажите еще и еще громче о том, что разрушение культурных сокровищ недопустимо и навсегда оставит на позорном листе разрушителя»17. Но власти его Родины молчали, не обращая внимания ни на его призывы, ни на Международный Пакт защиты культурных ценностей, который они отказались подписать. Елена Ивановна Рерих, выдающийся философ и общественный деятель, вторила Николаю Константиновичу. Она писала о новой эпохе, где будет главенствовать Культура, указывала на крайнюю необходимость ее защиты там, где ее не только нарушали, но и разрушали. «Всеми силами боритесь, отстаивайте ваши права во имя общего блага, во имя культуры! Полумеры везде губительны. Требуйте полной победы. Полного освобождения, чтобы все средства обратить на расширение культуры страны! Сейчас нужны действия, самые широкие действия»18. Обращение, написанное Еленой Ивановной еще в 1931 году, не утратило своей актуальности и сейчас. Давно в России сменились власть имущие, и многое изменилось в ней за прошедшие годы. Но по-прежнему значение Культуры мало понимается, по-прежнему предпринимаются действия, наносящие Культуре урон, по-прежнему актуальна проблема защиты Культуры. Пакт Рериха остается не только злободневным, но и обретает сегодня более острый характер, требуя решения и на уровне власть имущих, и на уровне самой общественности. Власть имущие России не вникают и не осмысливают процессы, происходящие в пространстве культуры, и безвольно следуют сложившимся в нем тенденциям. В культурной политике этих власть имущих достаточно ярко проявляется то господство цивилизации, о котором уже было сказано. Российские власти, в силу своей ограниченности и зачастую попросту невежества, непонимания роли культуры и ее значения для общего развития страны, ставят в качестве приоритетных направлений не культуру как таковую, но моменты цивилизации, оторванные от культуры. Поэтому общая политика наших власть имущих направлена в первую очередь на материальные и социально-экономические проблемы. Они не сознают, что сегодняшняя неуспешность этой политики связана с отношением к культуре по «остаточному принципу». В то же время и общественное мнение, формирующееся сейчас в России, не всегда обращает внимание на положение в культуре. Историческая ситуация так сложилась, что осознание сути культуры и крайней необходимости ее защиты понимается лишь немногими. Нет ясного представления о том, что возрождение России связано прежде всего с защитой и развитием культуры. Правительственные игры с так называемой национальной идеей потрясают своей безграмотностью, а временами и абсурдностью. Для ее формирования выдвигаются самые разные явления, вплоть до спорта, в частности футбола. О культуре в этом отношении еще никто из власть имущих не упоминал. Национальная идея не создается за три месяца, как в свое время потребовал бывший президент России Б.Н.Ельцин. Она нарабатывается веками и только в таком виде может служить объединяющим стабильным фактором. Что, кроме культуры, может быть такой идеей? Ее мощная духовная энергетика, как магнит, собирает национальные интересы страны, формирующие ее будущее.

«Сейчас наш стан среди пустыни, – писал Н.К. Рерих в экспедиционном дневнике. – Кто-то когда-то по неведению уничтожил обширные леса, остатки которых мы видели. За лесами ушли и травы. И воды скрылись под землю. Пустыня! Так же точно по невежеству и по злобе можно все разрушить. И кому же нужна будет эта пустыня, вещественная или духовная. <...> Власть имущие, скажите решительно! Повторите и твердите о мире и созидании»19.

Удивительно точный образ культуры – лес, держащий пространство в равновесии и обеспечивающий его жизнедеятельность всем необходимым. Вырубили лес, и все превратилось в бесплодную пустыню. То же самое значение для общества имеет и «вырубка» или разрушение культуры. Есть созидатели культуры, и есть разрушители культуры. В сегодняшней России число последних все более увеличивается. В число этих разрушителей входят и чиновники разных видов и положений, на счету которых немало уничтожений. Они приобретают объекты культуры для целей, к культуре не имеющих отношения, представители власть имущих дают разрешение на ликвидацию памятников культуры, депутаты Государственной Думы принимают законы против культуры, не задумываясь о последствиях своих невежественных действий. В этом ряду нужно упомянуть и иерархов православной церкви, выступающих против Рерихов как созидателей культуры.



12 Знамя Мира. – М., 1995. – С. 103.

13 Там же. – С. 142.

14 Рерих Н.К. Культура и цивилизация. – М., 1994. – С. 131.

15 Знамя Мира. – С. 163.

16 Там же. – С. 170.

17 Там же. – С. 141.

18 Письма Елены Рерих. – Т.I. – С. 93.

19 Знамя Мира. – С. 141 – 142.

СТРАНИЦЫ  1234|Знамя Мира|Основное меню