Inetrnational Centre of the Roerichs

International Non-Governmental Organization | Special consultative status with UN ECOSOC
Associate member with UN DPI | Institutional member of International Council of Museums (ICOM)
Member of pan-European Federation for Cultural Heritage EUROPA NOSTRA | Associate member with INTO

Roerichs' familyRoerichs' evolutionary actionsMuseum named after Nicholas RoerichPublishing activity
Scientific enlightment workProtection of the Roerichs' name and heritageICR: general information
NewsContacts

      рус  eng    
 
printer friendly
PAGES  The Roerich Pact|Relevance of the Roerich Pact in the modern world: 1234Notes|75 years of the Roerich Pact
V. Chukov (Russia), V. Drabo (Belarus),
and worker of the American Pole Station “Amundsen-Scott”
with the Banner of Peace on the South Pole. January 8, 2000.


The Banner of Peace became the symbol of Roerich’s Pact. Three small circles within a large one, signifying the unity of the past, present, and future in the space of Eternity and symbolizing the cosmic law of cultural succession. Banners of Peace, the International signs of evolution, are raised all over the world in those places where Culture is protected. The Banner of Peace has flown around our planet in a cosmic spacecraft, has waved at the North and South poles, has taken part in many major cultural events.

In 1930, even before the Pact for the protection of culture was signed, N. Roerich wrote: “This plan (The Pact for the Protection of Culture – L. Sh.) provides for a special flag that will be respected as international neutral territory; this banner must be raised above museums, cathedrals, libraries, universities, and other centers of culture.”[20, p.103]

I would like to present some quotations regarding the Banner of Peace by the cosmonauts who raised the banner above the planet Earth.

A. Balandin: “I think that the more often people come into contact with the Banner of Peace, the more often, before doing or saying something, they will consider whether or not they should really do it. Maybe, our spirituality, and just good, will be revived through this.”[21]

A. Soloviev: “We are convinced that only on the basis of partnership and collaboration can a beautiful future be constructed in the 21st century. [...] Culture is the basis for the building of a common home for mankind. Toward this goal, Russian and International public organizations have started the cosmic project “Banner of Peace.”[22, p.104]

Michael Foal, American astronaut: “We have raised the Banner of Peace into the Cosmos in order to remind all people of our global responsibility for the fate of humanity and the planet. [...] Man’s travels into the cosmos [...] are the first steps in a new, single, cosmic culture, the symbol of which is the Banner of Peace.”[23, p.104]

P. Vinogradov: “We have raised the Banner of Peace above the planet so that Culture may forever outstand war and hostility on our planet. We call for the construction of new spiritual, scientific, and artistic collaboration of all people and peoples of the Earth.”[24, p.104]

When you listen to these speeches or read them, you start to understand very well that those who have been into outer space better than anyone else understand its essence – the construction of a new World, the creation of a new Culture. The Living Ethics, which contains a system of cognition of a new cosmic mentality, also functions under the Banner of Peace and its symbols. “Let us purposefully construct,” Helena Roerich wrote, “a stronghold of culture – the knowledge of the Living Ethics and beauty. Knowledge and Beauty are the basis and the crown of cosmic evolution.”[25, p.59]

Unfortunately, under the contradictory circumstances of our existence, far fewer than the majority understand the significance of the “crown of cosmic evolution” and do not recognize the beginning of the epoch of new cosmic thinking.

“There will be a time,” Helena Roerich predicted, “when the Banner of Peace, the Banner of Culture will cover the whole world.”[26, p.102] As known, a lot has already been done for it. And still a lot is left to be done. This process is not easy. Not everybody is aware that the Banner of Peace is the symbol of culture and cosmic evolution.

“The history of the Pact,” Helena Roerich pointed out, “is a very instructive book in which the sides of light and darkness will be very clearly marked, and peoples will see for themselves that all that was constructive, all that had a future ahead of it, supported the Pact’s ratification and the acceptance of the Banner. The Banner of Peace is a great touchstone for humanity’s mentality.”[27, p.351]

Banner of Peace in the RF State Parliament (Duma)

The State Duma of the Federal Assembly of Russia turned out to be incapable of passing the test on this touchstone. The Banner of Peace hung in the Duma beginning in 1995, giving a certain hope that this important state body would not only comprehend the essence of this symbol, but would also pay attention to the necessity of protecting culture. For almost ten years, Duma deputies contemplated this Banner, listened to lectures on culture and about Roerich’s Pact. All this did not have any noticeable impact on the Duma. In 2004 the Banner of Peace was removed. This demand was instigated by the Duma deputy, the journalist Kroutov. But it does not matter who instigated it. There are still many such Kroutovs on the Earth. It is they who embody the dark rows of the adversaries of culture, it is they who do not pass the test for a worthy level of morality. Those who hurried to remove this Banner without even the formal decision of the Duma itself proved to be irresponsible and ignorant. Those who did not speak against Kroutov, who called the Banner of Peace “the sign of Satan” turned out to be irresponsible too. The deputies incurred shame on themselves in removing the Banner of Peace. It so happened that in the autumn of the same year, during the birthday celebration of the outstanding artist and philosopher Svetoslav Roerich, the Banner of Peace was handed by cosmonaut V. Afanassiev to the Vice-Speaker of the Indian Parliament in Delhi, and it is now held in the Parliament of India. It is India, where our compatriots Roerichs worked and created for many years, that passed the test for culture, unlike the State Parliament of Russia. During celebrations dedicated to S. Roerich’s birthday, two people representing the International Center of the Roerichs, the ICR President Y. Vorontsov and L. Shaposhnikova, were received by Prime Minister of India Manmohan Singh and Foreign Minister Natvar Singh. Both, when speaking of the Roerichs, called them a bridge between the culture of India and Russia. Is such deep penetration into the essence of the Roerichs’ cultural activities characteristic of our high officials? I am afraid not. The attitude toward the Banner of Peace in our Duma revealed another situation. The Duma and its deputies do not take much interest in what is happening beyond their walls, do not pay attention to what is said and written beyond their space. If it were not so, then hardly would the Banner of Peace – the symbol of world culture – have be driven out of the Duma. And it was only the Deputy Chairman of the Committee for Culture Yelena Drapeko who forwarded a letter to the State Duma Speaker B. Gryzlov with a protest against bureaucratic arbitrariness. Touching upon the history of Roerich’s Pact and the Banner of Peace, Yelena Drapeko wrote: “The significance of the Banner of Peace is the fact that, by way of the protection of human creations, respect for the spiritual values by which all of mankind lives is laid into the consciousness of the masses and the oncoming generation. [...] I believe it fit to note that, despite A. Kroutov’s personal opinion, which is specified in his speech dedicated to the Banner of Peace, the significance of the latter is not at all diminished in the eyes of the world’s public. The Committee for Culture [...] receives many appeals from public organizations and citizens who are insulted by the words of the said deputy and by the fact that the Banner of Peace, on the pretext of repair or a change in exhibition, was removed from the session room lobby on the eve of the 70th anniversary of the Pact of Peace.

On February 20, 2005, in the Moscow House of Journalists, a public conference on the subject “Culture Against Terrorism” was held, in which was discussed the situation with the Banner of Peace and was adopted an appeal to the State Duma drawing its attention to the necessity of keeping this symbol of humaneness, morality, and the protection of cultural values in the building of the Russian Parliament. The presence of the Banner of Peace in the Duma will undoubtedly create the necessary ground and atmosphere for the development and strengthening of the great idea of the protection of cultural values, so clearly necessary for the physical and spiritual health of mankind.

More than half a year has passed after that shameful anti-cultural act in the State Duma of Russia, but nothing has changed. The Banner of Peace is still not there. There is no way of thinking that the letter did not reach Gryzlov. One might rather think of another thing – of the Parliament speaker’s alienation from the issues of culture, complete deafness in this respect, and lack of understanding of the role of culture in our society. This is probably the worst thing. And as long as the powers that share Gryzlov’s level of mentality allow Kroutovs and Kourayevs to implement their anti-cultural ideas, we will not be able to assert and protect the heart of our being – Culture.

“Be ready to respond with dignity to all ignoramuses and destroyers of Culture! The Banner of Peace and Culture must be understood now as a great symbol,” Helena Roerich wrote.

On April 15, 1935, when Roerich’s Pact for the protection of Culture was signed by the heads of a number of states, N. Roerich once again reminded everyone of the significance and the evolutionary essence of the Banner of Peace, the symbol of this Pact. “Let the Banner of Peace stream above the centers of Light, above the shrines and citadels of the beautiful. Let it stream above all deserts, above lonely secret abodes of Beauty, so that deserts burst into blossom from this sacred grain. The Banner is raised. It will not be lowered in the spirit and the heart. With the lighted fire of the heart, the Banner of Culture will blossom. So may it be!”

“So may it be!” we shall repeat after our great compatriot who brought to our Planet the knowledge of Culture and Cosmic evolution so needed by us. And let the Banner of Peace – the symbol of Culture and new cosmic mentality – lead us forward, to a new World of high spirituality, expanded consciousness, and flourishing Culture.”

PAGES  The Roerich Pact|Relevance of the Roerich Pact in the modern world: 1234Notes|75 years of the Roerich Pact

Международный Центр Рерихов - Международный Центр-Музей имени Н.К. Рериха

Международная общественная организация | Специальный консультативный статус при ЭКОСОС ООН
Ассоциированный член ДОИ ООН | Ассоциированный член Международной Организации Национальных Трастов
Коллективный член Международного совета музеев (ИКОМ) | Член Всеевропейской федерации по культурному наследию «ЕВРОПА НОСТРА»

Семья РериховЭволюционные действия РериховМузей имени Н.К. РерихаТворческие отделыМеждународные конференции
Культурно-просветительская работаЗащита имени и наследия РериховМЦР: общие сведенияСотрудничествоПомощь Музею

Главная страница » Эволюционные действия Рерихов » Пакт Рериха » Актуальность Пакта Рериха в современном мире
      рус  eng
версия для печати
СТРАНИЦЫ  1234|Знамя Мира|Основное меню
 

Слева направо: В. Чуков (Россия), В. Драбо (Беларусь) и сотрудник
американской полярной станции "Амундсен-Скотт"
со Знаменем Мира. Южный Полюс. 8 января 2000 г.
Символом Пакта Рериха стало Знамя Мира. Три малых круга в большом, знаменующие единство прошлого, настоящего и будущего в пространстве Вечности и символизирующие космический закон культурной преемственности. Знамена Мира, международный знак эволюции, вывешены по всему миру там, где защищается Культура. Знамя Мира облетело нашу планету на космическом корабле, развевалось на Северном и Южном полюсе, участвовало во многих культурных мероприятиях.

В 1930 году, еще до подписания Пакта о защите культуры, Н.К. Рерих писал: «Этот план (Пакт о защите культуры – Л.Ш.) предусматривает особый флаг, который будет почитаем как международная нейтральная территория; это знамя должно быть поднято над музеями, соборами, библиотеками, университетами и прочими культурными центрами»20.

Хотелось бы привести несколько высказываний космонавтов, которые подняли над планетой Земля Знамя Мира и которые имели к этому Знамени самое непосредственное отношение.

А.Н. Баландин: «Я думаю, чем чаще люди будут соприкасаться со Знаменем Мира, тем чаще они, прежде чем что-то сделать, что-то сказать, подумают, стоит ли это делать. Наверное, из этого и возродится и наша духовность и просто добро»21.

А. Соловьев: «Мы убеждены, что только на основе партнерства и сотрудничества может быть построено прекрасное будущее в ХХI веке. <...> Культура – это основа построения общего земного дома человечества. Ради этой цели российские и между­народные общественные организации начали культурный космический проект «Знамя Мира»22.

Майкл Фоэл, американский астронавт: «Мы подняли Знамя Мира в Космос, чтобы еще раз напомнить всем людям о нашей глобальной ответственности за судьбу человечества и планеты. <...> Полеты человека в космос <...> – это первые шаги новой, единой космической культуры, символом которой является Знамя Мира»23.

П. Виноградов: «Мы подняли над планетой Знамя Мира, чтобы пространство Культуры навсегда вытеснило с нашей планеты пространство войны и вражды. Мы призываем к строительству нового духовного, научного и художественного сотрудничества всех людей и народов Земли»24.

Когда слушаешь или читаешь эти выступления, то хорошо начинаешь понимать, что те, кто побывали в космосе, лучше, чем кто-либо, поняли его суть – строительство нового Мира, созидание новой Культуры. Живая Этика, которая содержит в себе систему познания нового космического мышления, также идет под Знаменем Мира и его символами. «Будем устремленно строить, – писала Елена Ивановна Рерих, – оплоты культуры – знание «Живой Этики» и красоту. Знание и Красота – основа и венец космической эволюции»25.

К сожалению, в противоречивой обстановке нашего существования далеко не многие понимают значение «венца космической эволюции» и не осознают наступления эпохи нового космического мышления.

«Будет время, – предсказывала Елена Ивановна, – когда Знамя Мира, Знамя Культуры покроет весь мир»26. Уже немало, как известно, сделано для этого. И немало еще остается сделать. Процесс этот нелегок. Не всеми Знамя Мира осознается как символ культуры и космической эволюции.

«История Пакта, – отмечала Е.И. Рерих, – является очень поучительной книгой, в которой ярко будут обозначены стороны света и тьмы, и народы убедятся, что все строительное, все имевшее перед собою будущее, было за ратификацию Пакта и принятие Знамени. Знамя Мира есть великий пробный камень для сознания человечества»27.

Знамя Мира в Госдуме РФ
Государственная Дума Федерального Собрания России оказалась не в состоянии пройти через этот пробный камень. Знамя Мира висело в Думе с 1995 года и внушало определенную надежду на то, что этот важный государственный орган не только постигнет смысл этого символа, но и обратит внимание на необходимость защищать культуру. Почти 10 лет депутаты Думы созерцали это Знамя, слушали лекции по культуре и о Пакте Рериха. Особого действия все это на Думу не произвело. В 2004 году Знамя Мира было снято. С таким требованием выступил депутат Думы – журналист Крутов. Но дело не в том, кто выступил. Подобных крутовых еще немало на земле. Это они олицетворяют темные ряды противников культуры, это они не выдерживают испытания на достойный уровень нравственности. Безответственными и невежест­венными оказались те, кто поспешно снял это Знамя даже без формального решения самой Думы. Безответственными оказались и те, кто против этого не протестовал. Безответственными были и те, кто не выступил против Крутова, назвавшего Знамя Мира «сатанинским знаком». Депутаты опозорили себя и Думу, сняв Знамя Мира. Так совпало, что осенью этого же года во время празднования юбилея выдающегося художника и философа Святослава Николаевича Рериха Знамя Мира было вручено в Дели космонавтом В.М. Афанасьевым вице-спикеру индийского парламента и находится теперь в парламенте Индии. Именно Индия, в которой много лет работали и творили наши соотечественники Рерихи, выдержала испытание на культуру, в отличие от Государственной Думы России. Во время торжеств, посвященных юбилею С.Н. Рериха, два человека, представляющие Международный Центр Рерихов, – президент МЦР Ю.М. Воронцов и Л.В. Шапошникова – были приняты премьер-министром Индии Манмоханом Сингхом и министром иностранных дел Натваром Сингхом. Оба они, говоря о Рерихах, назвали их мостом между культурой Индии и России. Свойственно ли нашим высоким чиновникам такое глубокое проникновение в суть культурной деятельности Рерихов? Боюсь, что нет. Отношение к Знамени Мира в нашей Думе вскрыло еще одно обстоятельство. Дума и ее депутаты мало интересуются тем, что происходит за ее стенами, не обращают внимания на то, что говорят и пишут вне ее пространства. Если бы оказалось иначе, тогда вряд ли Знамя Мира – символ мировой культуры – было бы изгнано из Думы. И только заместитель председателя Комитета по культуре Елена Григорьевна Драпеко направила письмо спикеру Государственной Думы Б.В. Грызлову, протестуя против бюрократического самоуправства. Коснувшись истории Пакта Рериха и Знамени Мира, Елена Григорьевна писала: «Значение Знамени Мира заключается в том, что путем охраны человеческого творчества в сознание масс и подрастающего поколения закладывается уважение именно к духовным ценностям, которыми живо человечество. <...> Считаю уместным заметить, что, несмотря на частное мнение депутата Крутова А.Н., изложенное в его выступлении по поводу Знамени Мира, значение последнего в глазах мировой общественности нисколько не уменьшилось. В Комитет по культуре <...> приходят многочисленные обращения общественных организаций и граждан, оскорбленных словами вышеназванного депутата и тем фактом, что Знамя Мира под видом ремонта или изменения экспозиции убрали из фойе зала заседаний в канун 70-летнего юбилея Пакта Мира.

20 февраля 2005 года в Московском Доме журналистов состоялась конференция общественности на тему «Культура против терроризма», на которой была обсуждена ситуация со Знаменем Мира и принято обращение к Государственной Думе о необходимости сохранения этого символа гуманности, нравственности и защиты культурных ценностей в здании российского парламента. Присутствие Знамени в Думе, несомненно, создает необходимую почву и атмосферу для развития и укрепления великой идеи охраны культурных ценностей, столь очевидно необходимой для физического и духовного здоровья человечества».

Прошло более полугода после совершения позорного антикультурного действия в Государственной Думе России, но ничего не изменилось. Знамени Мира там по-прежнему нет. Думать, что это письмо не попало в руки Грызлова, не приходится. Скорее можно поразмышлять о другом – об отчуждении спикера парламента от вопросов культуры, полной глухоте в этом отношении и непонимании роли культуры в нашем обществе. Вот это, пожалуй, самое скверное. И пока власть имущие с грызловским уровнем сознания будут позволять крутовым и кураевым проводить в жизнь свои антикультурные идеи, до тех пор мы не сможем отстоять и защитить сердце нашего бытия – Культуру.

«Умейте с достоинством отвечать всем невеждам и разрушителям Культуры! Сейчас нужно понять Знамя Мира и Культуры как величайший символ», – писала Е.И. Рерих.

15 апреля 1935 года, когда Пакт Рериха о защите Культуры был подписан главами ряда государств, Н.К. Рерих еще раз напомнил всем о значении и эволюционной сути Знамени Мира, символа этого Пакта. «Пусть Знамя развевается над очагами Света, над святилищами и твердынями прекрасного. Пусть оно развевается над всеми пустынями, над одинокими тайниками Красоты, чтобы от этого зерна священного процвели пустыни. Знамя поднято. В духе и сердце оно не будет опущено. Светлым огнем сердца процветет Знамя Культуры. Да будет!»

«Да будет», – повторим и мы вслед за великим нашим соотечественником, принесшим на нашу Планету столь необходимое нам знание о Культуре и Космической эволюции. И пусть Знамя Мира – символ Культуры и нового космического мышления – ведет нас вперед, к новому Миру высокой духовности, расширенного сознания и процветающей Культуры.



20 Знамя Мира. – С. 103.

21 Архив МЦР.

22 Цит. по: «Знамя Мира» на космической орбите» // Мир Огненный. – 1998. №2 (17). – С. 104.

23 Там же.

24 Там же.

25 Письма Елены Рерих. – Т. I. – С. 59.

26 Там же. – С. 102.

27 Там же. – С. 351.

СТРАНИЦЫ  1234|Знамя Мира|Основное меню