Inetrnational Centre of the Roerichs

International Non-Governmental Organization | Special consultative status with UN ECOSOC
Associate member with UN DPI | Institutional member of International Council of Museums (ICOM)
Member of pan-European Federation for Cultural Heritage EUROPA NOSTRA | Associate member with INTO

Roerichs' familyRoerichs' evolutionary actionsMuseum named after Nicholas RoerichPublishing activity
Scientific enlightment workProtection of the Roerichs' name and heritageICR: general information
NewsContacts

      рус  eng    
 
printer friendly
PAGES  12Notes

H. Roerich during the Central-Asian expedition
H. Roerich during the Central-Asian expedition

From 1924 to 1928, Helena Roerich participated in a grandiose expedition organized by N. Roerich across the hardly approachable and little explored regions of Central Asia. She was the only woman who completed this extremely difficult itinerary. Helena Roerich shared all hardships and dangers of the way with the rest of the expedition members. Nicholas Roerich wrote, “To offer help, cheer up, explain something without sparing herself – Helena Roerich is ready for anything… Often you cannot help being amazed from where her energy comes, especially knowing her weak heart <…> On horseback together with us, Helena Roerich passed whole Asia, she was frozen and starved in Tibet, but she was always the first to show an example of vigor to the whole caravan. And the more was the danger, the more vigorous, ready, and cheerful she was. She had pulse 140, but she still tried to personally participate in the caravan arrangements and settlement of all the route concerns. Nobody ever saw her in depression or despair, though there were enough of all kinds of reasons for that”[6, p.162].

In 1926, in Mongolia (Ulan Bator), where the expedition found itself at that time, H. Roerich’s manuscript “Foundations of Buddhism” was published. That book interpreted fundamental philosophic notions of Buddha’s teaching, such as reincarnation, the laws of Karma, Nirvana and also discussed the deep underlying moral principles of such teachings, which refuted one of the main stereotypes of Western thought, which believed that in Buddhism man was worthless and as a creature forsaken by God.

The Living Ethics Teaching Books
The Living Ethics Teaching Books

In 1927, still there, in Mongolia, one of the Living Ethics book – “Community” was released.

In 1928, after their return from the Central-Asian expedition, the Roerichs settled down in the ancient and picturesque valley of Kullu in the Western Himalayas. There they founded the Himalayan Research Institute “Urusvati” (“The Morning Star”). H. Roerich was elected the honorable President of this unique scientific institution and took most active part in its activities-organization. Here in Kullu, Helena Roerich once again dedicated herself to the main work of her life – the books of the Living Ethics – and continued this work till the end of her life. As a philosophy of cosmic reality, the Living Ethics contains a unique system of cognition based on general and partial laws of the Cosmos, an integral part of which are Earth and mankind. This Living Ethics system of cognition corresponds to the new evolutionary turn in the development of mankind, when the perception of the cosmic world comes to substitute scientific thinking. The name of this very philosophy – the Living Ethics – unites man and Cosmos into a single spiritual system.

In 1929, in Paris, under the pseudonym J. Saint Hilaire, H. Roerich’s study “On Eastern Crossroads” was published. Those compositions (or apocrypha, i.e. texts which had not been included in canonic scriptures) convey information of legendary and historical events of days long past, tell about unknown sides of life of the Great Teachers of humanity – Buddha, Christ, Apollonius of Tian, Sergius of Radonega. To the image of Sergius, Protector and Defender of the Russian land, Helena Roerich dedicated a separate study, in which a perfect knowledge of history and theology was combined with a deep and reverent love for the ascetic.

Perfect mastery of foreign languages and deep knowledge of philosophy allowed H. Roerich to translate into Russian the “Secret Doctrine” – an outstanding work by Helena Blavatskaya, the founder of Theosophical Society, and selected letters of Mahatmas (“The Chalice of the East”). This allowed Russian-language readers to become acquainted with such important theosophical studies.

H. Roerich&rsquo;s letters, published by the ICR
H. Roerich’s letters, published by the ICR

A special place in Helena Roerich’s heritage occupy her letters to those who were studying the Living Ethics. If the Living Ethics teaching was created by Helena Roerich in collaboration with the Teachers, the “Letters” present a brilliant sample of her individual creative work. Gifted with an enlightener's talents, using simple and easily understandable language, she explained to her correspondents the most complicated issues of being. Including those concerning the place and role of man in the Universe, the laws of interaction between man and cosmos, and the peculiarities of relationship between spirit and matter. She gave real and practical advice. Reading those letters, one cannot help being amazed not only at her profound knowledge of ancient philosophical teachings, of the works of Oriental and European thinkers, but also at her broad and clear understanding of the foundations of existence. That is why H. Roerich’s “Letters” make necessary and integral part of the Living Ethics itself.

The two-volume edition of  “Helena Roerich’s Letters” was first published in Riga in 1940, and has been many times reissued since then. At present Helena Roerich’s letters complete collection (Volumes I-IX) was published by the Manuscript Department of International Center of the Roerichs in 1999–2009. This publication includes part of a correspondence never published before, which enables us to appreciate in an absolutely new way this outstanding woman’s participation in the movement for the Banner of Peace related to Roerich’s Pact. One can say in all confidence that signing the Pact would have been impossible without Helena Roerich. It was Helena who, during N. Roerich’s Manchurian expedition (1934–1935), maintained all the business correspondence with the international cultural and educational organizations and coordinated their activities. The result of her dedicated work was the signing of Roerich’s Pact by the heads of twenty-two countries, including the USA, on April 15, 1935.

S. Roerich. Portrait of Helena Roerich. 1937 Portrait of Helena Roerich. 1937
S. Roerich. Portrait of Helena Roerich. 1937

In January 1948, shortly after her husband’s death, Helena Roerich, together with Yuri Roerich, left the Kullu valley, and, after a short stay in Delhi and Khandala, settled in a little resort city of Kalimpong on the Eastern Himalayan slopes.

H. Roerich always yearned to come back to Russia. The applications concerning her return to the Motherland she submitted to the Soviet Embassy remained unanswered. The same happened to the letters and petitions addressed to the government. The Academy of Arts was equally unhelpful. But despite all refusals, Helena Roerich hoped to come back, to bring along all the treasures she had collected and to work at least for a few years for the Best Country – this is how she called Russia. Her hope to see Russia did not abandon her upuntil her very last days: “It cannot be that I should not come. I must come!” – she repeated just before her final departure[7, p.63]. But this return never happened. The country refused entry to her great daughter. On October 5th 1955, Helena Roerich passed away.

The more time passes, and the deeper we penetrate into the spiritual and philosophical heritage of the great Russian philosopher Helena Roerich, the more obvious becomes the greatness of what she has done for the evolution of the planet and for the whole mankind.





PAGES  12Notes



























N. Roerich. From There. 1935–1936 (fragment of the painting)

Международный Центр Рерихов - Международный Центр-Музей имени Н.К. Рериха

Международная общественная организация | Специальный консультативный статус при ЭКОСОС ООН
Ассоциированный член ДОИ ООН | Ассоциированный член Международной Организации Национальных Трастов
Коллективный член Международного совета музеев (ИКОМ) | Член Всеевропейской федерации по культурному наследию «ЕВРОПА НОСТРА»

Семья РериховЭволюционные действия РериховЖивая ЭтикаМЦРМузей имени Н.К. РерихаЛ.В. ШапошниковаЗащита имени и наследия Рерихов
ОНЦ КМ Международные конференцииПакт РерихаЖурнал «Культура и время»Культурно-просветительская работаСотрудничество

Главная страница » Семья Рерихов » Елена Ивановна Рерих
      рус  eng
версия для печати
СТРАНИЦЫ  Биография: 12|Родословная: 12|Основные даты|Библиография

Е.И.Рерих во время Центрально-Азиатской экспедиции
Е.И. Рерих во время Центрально-Азиатской экспедиции

С 1924 по 1928 годы Елена Ивановна участвует в грандиозной экспедиции, организованной Н.К. Рерихом по труднодоступным и малоисследованным районам Центральной Азии. Она была единственной женщиной, которая прошла весь труднейший маршрут. Елена Ивановна разделила с остальными членами экспедиции все тяготы пути и смертельные опасности. «Принести помощь, ободрить, разъяснить, не жалея сил – на все готова Елена Ивановна… Часто остается лишь изумляться, откуда берутся силы, особенно же зная ее слабое сердце <…> На коне вместе с нами Елена Ивановна проехала всю Азию, замерзала и голодала в Тибете, но всегда первая подавала пример бодрости всему каравану. И чем больше была опасность, тем бодрее, готовнее и радостнее была она. У самой пульс был 140, но она все же пыталась лично участвовать и в устроении каравана, и в улажении всех путевых забот. Никто никогда не видел упадка духа или отчаяния, а ведь к тому бывало немало поводов самого различного характера», – писал Николай Константинович.

В 1926 году в Монголии (Улан-Батор), где в это время находилась экспедиция, была опубликована рукопись Е.И. Рерих «Основы буддизма». В этой книге раскрываются фундаментальные философские понятия учения Будды, а также освещаются глубочайшие нравственные основы этого великого  учения. 

Книги Учения Живой Этики
Книги Учения Живой Этики

В 1927 году там же, в Монголии, увидела свет одна из книг Живой Этики – «Община».

В 1928 году, по возвращении из Центрально-Азиатской экспедиции, Рерихи поселяются в древней живописной долине Кулу в Западных Гималаях. Здесь они основывают Институт Гималайских исследований «Урусвати» – «Утренняя звезда». Е.И.Рерих становится президентом-основателем этого уникального научного учреждения и принимает самое деятельное участие в организации его работы. Здесь, в Кулу, Елена Ивановна вновь посвящает себя работе над главным трудом своей жизни – книгами Живой Этики – и продолжает вести эту работу до конца жизни. Являясь философией космической реальности, Живая Этика содержит в себе уникальную систему познания, основанную на законах Космоса, неотъемлемой частью которого является Земля и человечество. Эта система познания Живой Этики соответствует новому эволюционному витку развития человечества, когда на смену научному мышлению приходит космическое мироощущение. Название самой философии – Живая Этика – связывает человека и Космос в единую одухотворенную систему.

В 1929 году в Париже под псевдонимом Ж. Сент-Илер издается работа Е.И. Рерих «Криптограммы Востока». Эти сочинения (или апокрифы, то есть тексты, не вошедшие в канонические писания) передают легендарные и исторические события давно минувших дней, рассказывают о неизвестных сторонах жизни Великих Учителей человечества – Будды, Христа, Аполлония Тианского, Сергия Радонежского. Образу Сергия, Хранителя и Заступника земли русской, Елена Ивановна Рерих посвятит отдельную работу, в которой прекрасное знание истории и богословия соединится с глубокой и трепетной любовью к подвижнику.

Блестящее владение иностранными языками и глубокое знание философии позволило Е.И. Рерих перевести на русский язык «Тайную Доктрину» – выдающийся труд основательницы Теософского общества Елены Петровны Блаватской, а также избранные письма Махатм («Чаша Востока»), что позволило познакомить русскоязычного читателя с этими важнейшими теософскими произведениями.

Письма Е.И.Рерих, изданные МЦР
Письма Е.И. Рерих, изданные МЦР

Особое место в наследии Елены Ивановны Рерих занимают ее письма. Если учение Живой Этики создавалось Еленой Ивановной в сотрудничестве с Учителями, то «Письма» представляют собой блестящий образец ее индивидуального творчества. Обладая удивительным даром просветителя, она простым и доступным языком объясняла своим корреспондентам сложнейшие вопросы бытия. В письмах Е.И. Рерих поднимаются проблемы, посвященные месту и роли человека в мироздании, о закономерностях взаимодействия человека и космоса, особенностях взаимосвязи духа и материи. Давала жизненные и практические советы. Читая эти письма, поражаешься не только ее глубокому знанию древних философских учений, трудов восточных и европейских мыслителей, но и широкому, ясному пониманию основ бытия. Поэтому «Письма» Е.И. Рерих являются необходимой и неотъемлемой частью самой Живой Этики.

Двухтомник «Писем Елены Рерих» впервые вышел в Риге в 1940 году и с тех пор неоднократно переиздавался. В настоящее время издано полное собрание писем Елены Ивановны Рерих (тт. I – IX) из отдела рукописей Международного Центра Рерихов. В них публикуется часть никогда ранее не издававшейся переписки, которая позволяет совершенно по-новому оценить участие этой выдающейся женщины в движении Знамени Мира, связанном с Пактом Рериха. Можно с полной уверенностью говорить, что без Елены Ивановны Рерих принятие Пакта было бы невозможным. Именно она во время Маньчжурской экспедиции Н.К.Рериха (1934 - 1935 гг.) вела всю деловую переписку с международными культурно-просветительскими организациями и координировала их деятельность. Итогом ее подвижнического труда стало подписание 15 апреля 1935 года Пакта Рериха главами 21 страны, включая США.

С.Н.Рерих. Портрет Е.И.Рерих
С.Н. Рерих. Портрет Е.И. Рерих. 1937

В январе 1948 г., вскоре после смерти мужа, Елена Ивановна вместе с Юрием Николаевичем Рерихом покидает долину Кулу и после краткого пребывания в Дели и Кхандале поселяется в небольшом курортном городке Калимпонге на склонах Восточных Гималаев.

Е.И. Рерих всегда стремилась вернуться в Россию. Ее обращения о возвращении на Родину, поданные в советское посольство, оставались без ответа. Такая же судьба постигла письма и прошения в адрес правительства. Не помогла и Академия художеств. Но, несмотря на все отказы, Елена Ивановна надеялась вернуться, довезти все собранные ею сокровища и хотя бы несколько лет поработать для Страны Лучшей – так она называла Россию. Надежда увидеть Россию не покидала ее до самых последних дней: «Не может быть, чтобы я не приехала. Я должна приехать!», – повторила она уже перед своим уходом. Но это возвращение так и не состоялось. Страна отказала своей великой дочери во въезде. 5 октября 1955 года Елена Ивановна Рерих ушла из жизни.


Чем больше проходит времени и чем глубже мы проникаем в духовно-философское наследие выдающегося русского философа Елены Ивановны Рерих, тем ясней становится величие сделанного ею для эволюции планеты и человечества.


ССЫЛКИ ПО ТЕМЕ  Из философского наследия
СТРАНИЦЫ  Биография: 12|Родословная: 12|Основные даты|Библиография


































Н.К. Рерих. Оттуда. 1935–1936 (фрагмент картины)