Inetrnational Centre of the Roerichs

International Non-Governmental Organization | Special consultative status with UN ECOSOC
Associate member with UN DPI | Institutional member of International Council of Museums (ICOM)
Member of pan-European Federation for Cultural Heritage EUROPA NOSTRA | Associate member with INTO

Roerichs' familyRoerichs' evolutionary actionsMuseum named after Nicholas RoerichPublishing activity
Scientific enlightment workProtection of the Roerichs' name and heritageICR: general information
NewsContacts

      рус  eng    
 
printer friendly
PAGES  123NotesPublications

The Roerichs lived in India for more than 30 years. They chose this country not by chance. It has always been a country of high culture, spiritually subtle people, and knowledge that has been accumulated and preserved since the most ancient of times. Many people have experienced India’s magnetism. The mystery of its great attraction lies, first of all, in the continuity of its cultural tradition. For the thousands of years of its existence, India has not lost a single people, a single culture. Ancient Egyptians, Sumerians, and other peoples have disappeared from the face of the Earth, leaving behind only material traces of their existence. There is no other country in the world where a multi-century cultural tradition is preserved like in India.

The call for the prayer. Photo by L.V.Shposhnikova
The call for the prayer. Photo by L.V.Shposhnikova

Here in India we see not traces of death, but a live organism, a live body. For many centuries continuously, this culture has been formed, the spiritual image of Indians themselves has developed, precious stones of Indian philosophical thought and wisdom have been polished. Culture and Beauty have created for many centuries this elastic field of powerful and subtle energetics. Fate and the gods desired that there be at least one country on the planet capable of clearly and convincingly demonstrating the evolutionary essence of Culture and Beauty. And it was India that deserved such a great honor. The relationship of Indian culture to the worlds of a different state of matter, the philosophical comprehension of such a relationship, and the ability to take reasonable advantage of it are the distinctive features of this culture. Entering into energetic and informational exchange with India, countries and nations have received from India priceless treasures of Knowledge, true approaches toward the solutions of problems related to the improvement of man, the wise practice of the development of the spirit, and, finally, the cosmic view of the evolution of mankind.

And not without ground, as long ago as in 1913, N. Roerich wrote: “Enticing is the Great Indian way.”[26] Already living in India, he comprehended the boundless character of its culture and spirit, and, the more time that passed, the deeper he plunged into the wisdom and profundity of its centuries of accumulations. “With great joy I notice,” he stated in 1929, “the wide spread of high intellectual and artistic powers in India. Highly gifted individuals are now heading universities, institutes, and schools, and the names of Tagore, Bose, Raman, and other leaders of science and art form a live bridge between the India of today and the deep roots of its past culture.

So, following the greatest achievements, we reach the highest ways.

The great Vivekananda, when asked by his devoted follower what she should do in India, answered: “Love India!”

The great teachings of the Vedas, the behests of Buddha, Apollonius of Tian, Paracelsus, Thomas Vaughn, Ramakrishna, countless calls of centuries and all peoples direct us to the great mountain of India, which protects the treasure.

Love India!”[27]

S.N. Roerich. Spring in Kullu. 1939
S.N. Roerich. Spring in Kullu. 1939

These words “Love India!” were a kind of slogan for the Roerichs. They loved India, lived in India, and created in India, not elsewhere, a unique Institute of Himalayan Studies and called it “Urusvati,” “The Light of the Morning Star.” The institute was the first precious grain of that new science of which the Living Ethics and the Teachers, standing high on the stairs of cosmic evolution, had spoken. Implementing their ideas in life, the Roerichs clearly understood why and in what name it was all done. The new cosmic thinking, the new system of cognition, new science – all this constituted a single whole, calling the planet to climb the ascent to a new stage of cosmic evolution. From the very beginning to the end, everything related to Urusvati was carefully prepared and elaborated by the Roerichs, starting from the Institute’s location, and finishing with the essence of its activities and creative work. It is known that behind this place lies the valley of Kullu in the Indian Himalayas. The Roerichs immediately noticed a very important situation, an accumulation of the high energetics of human thought in this area. The Himalayan slopes, rocks, and caves held invisible accumulations of this thought that had been carried by great personalities, sages, and saints who had been to this valley or had lived there. “The Institute’s location,” N. Roerich noted, “in the ancient valley of Kullu, or Kuluta, was also lucky. Rishis and sages of India had lived in these areas. Many legendary and historical events are related to these uplands. Buddha used to pass through here, and dozens of Buddhist monasteries flourished here in their time. Here, ruins of the Pandavas’ palaces and Arjuna’s cave are located, here Rishi Vyasa put together the Mahabharata. And here is the Viaskund, the place where your wishes come true.”[28]

The goddess from the Tripurasundaram temple. Photo by L.V.Shposhnikova
The goddess from the Tripurasundaram temple.
Photo by L.V.Shposhnikova

There were many legends in the valley. The legend of Narasimha, the patron of Kullu, drew N. Roerich’s special attention. “The valley of Kullu,” he wrote, “has its hero-protector – Narasimha, Rajput raja. A beautiful legend is connected with the name of Narasimha. The raja had to escape from Rajputana. Disguised like a modest coolie, the educated ruler escaped to the valley of Kullu. He concealed his personality under the cloak of a simple worker, but his great erudition did not let him remain unnoticed. The light of his justice and knowledge lit all his neighbors. The people guessed that an unusual man had appeared among them, and, of their own will, they began to consider Narasimha as their raja. The ruins of Narasimha’s castle are still standing in Naggar, and the hero’s image is erected under an old deodar. According to legend, Narasimha protects the valley of Kullu. And cursed is the one who will arouse the hero-raja’s justified wrath. They say he visits his country at night in the image of a majestic white-bearded prophet, and many people saw him and were blessed by the ruler. [ . . . ] Now he will protect Urusvati, our Himalayan Reseach institute!

And, above Narasimha’s image, towers the white peak of Guru Guri Dhar, the path of the Spiritual Teacher.”[29]

One of Roerich’s paintings is Guru Guri Dhar. It shows the Teacher, who had close bonds with the Roerichs and participated in the creation of the Living Ethics. Called Mahatma, Great Soul, he once lived in Kullu, and passed through it many times. He left behind legends based on the historical reality of the Great Teacher. The thought energetics of the Great Teacher are sensed in the ancient valley, which still attracts pilgrims and those who have visited it at least once. The thoughts of our great compatriots, the Roerichs, also left behind traces. In ancient times, in order to build a temple, an experienced and knowing priest who could orient well in subtle energetics chose a special place. And the perception of such energetics did not only allow the performance of some religious rituals, but also created for those praying the necessary mood, which helped them to comprehend the spiritual, invisible phenomena. As a rule, a temple’s location is beautiful. Exceptionally beautiful is the valley of Kullu, where the Institute of Himalayan studies is situated. There, the energetics of Beauty merge with the subtle energetics of great and lofty thoughts, which result in the appearance of a special creative field, which the scientists of the Institute have more than once sensed in their work, and which still shows itself in a special mood and easy breath. “When you see the mineral colors of the mountains, when you study the huge geysers full of various mineral salts, when you see all types of hot springs, you understand the character of the abundance of this part of the world, which is still virgin and has witnessed so many cosmic cataclysms. This place is exactly like this. This is a unique place for scientific studies. Here you sense a feast of knowledge and beauty,[30]” N. Roerich wrote. And more:

If someone would strive to review throughought history the entire world’s striving for the Himalayas, an extraordinarily significant study would result. Indeed, if, starting with a few thousand years ago, all the attractive powers of these heights were reviewed, it would be truly possible to understand why the Himalayas are called “incomparable.” How many Signs from times immemorial are related to this mountainous country! Even in the darkest epochs of the Middle Ages, even in the most distant countries, people thought of beautiful India, their imaginations culminating, of course, in its mountains, its sacred and mysterious snowy giants.

S.N. Roerich. Naggar. Kullu. 1938
S.N. Roerich. Naggar. Kullu. 1938

Let us try to gather in our minds all those most beautiful legends that could be conceived only in the Himalayas. In doing so, first of all, we will be struck by the amazing diversity of these traditions. Of course, this richness would be determined by many fiery strata, would become more luxurious due to the generosity of many millennia, would be crowned with the deeds of the best seekers of truth. This is all true. But these top deeds require surrounding splendor, and what can be more majestic than the unsurpassed mountains, with all their inexpressible radiance, with all their ineffable diversity?”[31]

The Kullu valley itself and the mountains adjacent to it were the sources of all kinds of knowledge. “It was noted,” N. Roerich wrote, “that electrical and magnetic phenomena are especially manifest at these height. The latter secure exceptional possibilities for the study of special currents, and one can imagine what new research could be performed by our great physicist Millican to continue his recent wonderful discoveries.

It is remarkable how all the collected information increases the significance of these areas, where the soil’s fertility is combined with the unusual phenomena of the heights and the heroic historical past.”[32]

This Himalayan region opened the most rich of possibilities for research in botany and zoology, archeology, linguistics, traditional medicine, and a number of completely unexpected trends in science.

PAGES  123NotesPublications








































N.K. Roerich. Guga Chohan. 1933

Международный Центр Рерихов - Международный Центр-Музей имени Н.К. Рериха

Международная общественная организация | Специальный консультативный статус при ЭКОСОС ООН
Ассоциированный член ДОИ ООН | Ассоциированный член Международной Организации Национальных Трастов
Коллективный член Международного совета музеев (ИКОМ) | Член Всеевропейской федерации по культурному наследию «ЕВРОПА НОСТРА»

Семья РериховЭволюционные действия РериховЖивая ЭтикаМЦРМузей имени Н.К. РерихаЛ.В. ШапошниковаЗащита имени и наследия Рерихов
ОНЦ КМ Международные конференцииТворческие отделыЖурнал «Культура и время»Культурно-просветительская работаСотрудничество

      рус  eng
версия для печати
СТРАНИЦЫ  123Примечания|Публикации|Зал Кулу|Научные исследования в «Урусвати» на современном этапе

Рерихи прожили в Индии более 30 лет. Эту страну они выбрали не случайно. Она была и есть страна высокой культуры, душевной утонченности ее народа и знаний, накопленных и не утерянных с самых древних времен. Магнетизм Индии испытывали многие. Тайна ее великой притягательности заключается, прежде всего, в непрерывности ее культурной традиции. За тысячелетия существования Индия не потеряла ни одного народа, ни одной культуры. Исчезли с лица земли древние египтяне, шумеры и другие народы, оставившие лишь материальные следы своего существования. Нет ни единой страны в мире, где бы, как в Индии, сохранялась вековая культурная традиция.

Призыв на молитву. Фотография Л.В. Шапошниковой
Призыв на молитву.
Фотография Л.В. Шапошниковой

Здесь, в Индии, мы видим не мертвые ее следы, а живой организм, живое тело. В течение многих веков, не прерываясь, формировалась эта культура, развивался духовный облик самих индийцев, создавались непревзойденные шедевры искусства, шлифовались драгоценные камни индийской философской мысли и мудрости. Культура и Красота сотворили в Индии в течение многих веков упругое поле сильной и тонкой энергетики. Судьбе и богам было угодно, чтобы на планете существовала хотя бы одна страна, способная продемонстрировать ярко и убедительно эволюционную суть Культуры и Красоты. Именно Индия удостоилась этой высокой чести. Сопричастность индийской культуры к мирам иного состояния материи, философское осмысление такой связи и умение разумно ею пользоваться – отличительные черты этой культуры. Вступая в энергоинформационный обмен с Индией, страны и народы получали от нее бесценные сокровища Знания, подлинные подходы к решению проблем совершенствования человека, мудрую практику развития духа и, наконец, космический взгляд на эволюцию человечества.

И не без основания Н.К.Рерих еще в 1913 году писал: «Заманчив Великий Индийский путь»[26]. Уже живя в Индии, он постигал бесконечность ее культуры и духа, и чем больше проходило времени, тем глубже он погружался в мудрость и глубину ее многовековых накоплений. «С радостью я замечаю, – утверждал он в 1929 году, – распространение высоких интеллектуальных и художественных сил в Индии. Высоко одаренные индивидуальности сейчас стоят во главе университетов, институтов и школ, и имена Тагора, Боса, Рамана и других мужей науки и искусства являются живым мостом между сегодняшней Индией и глубокими корнями ее прошлой культуры.

Итак, следуя лучшим вехам, мы достигаем высочайших путей.

Великий Вивекананда, когда его спросила преданная последовательница, что ей делать в Индии, ответил: “Любите Индию!”

Великие учения Вед, заветы Будды, Апполония Тианского, Парацельса, Томаса Вогана, Рамакришны, бесчисленные зовы веков и всех народов направляют нас к великой горе Индии, которая охраняет сокровище.

Любите Индию!»[27]

С.Н. Рерих. Весна в Кулу. 1939
С.Н. Рерих. Весна в Кулу. 1939
Эти слова «Любите Индию!» были как бы девизом Рерихов. Они ее любили, в ней жили и создали в ней, а не где-то в другом месте уникальный Институт Гималайских исследований и назвали его «Урусвати» – «Свет Утренней Звезды». Институт был первым драгоценным зерном той новой науки, о которой писала Живая Этика и говорили Учителя, стоявшие высоко на лестнице космической эволюции. Воплощая Их идеи в жизнь, Рерихи ясно себе представляли, для чего и во имя чего все это делается. Новое космическое мышление, новая система познания, новая наука – все это составляло единое целое, звавшее планету к преодолению подъема на новый виток космической эволюции. С самого начала и до конца все, что было связано с «Урусвати», Рерихами тщательно готовилось и разрабатывалось, начиная с месторасположения Института и кончая сутью его деятельности и творчества. Известно, что этим местом оказалась долина Кулу в индийских Гималаях. Рерихи сразу обратили внимание на одно важное обстоятельство – аккумуляцию в этом пространстве высокой энергетики человеческой мысли. На гималайских склонах, скалах и в пещерах остались невидимые накопления этой мысли, которые несли в себе жившие в этой долине или побывавшие в ней великие личности, мудрецы и святые. «Место Института, – отмечал Н.К. Рерих, – в древней долине Кулу, или Кулуте, тоже было удачно. В этих местах жили риши и мудрецы Индии. Многие легендарные и исторические события связаны с этими нагорьями. Тут проходил Будда и в свое время процветали десятки буддийских монастырей. Здесь находятся развалины дворцов Пандавов, пещера Арджуны, здесь собирал «Махабхарату» риши Виаса. Здесь и Виасакунд – место исполнения желаний»[28].

Богиня из храма Трипурасундарам. Фотография Л.В. Шапошниковой
Богиня из храма Трипурасундарам.
Фотография Л.В. Шапошниковой
В долине бытовало много легенд. Легенда о Нарасимхе – покровителе Кулу обратила на себя особое внимание Н.К. Рериха. «Долина Кулу, – писал он, – имеет своего героя-защитника – Нарасимху, раджпутского раджу. Прекрасная легенда связана с именем Нарасимхи. Раджа должен был бежать из Раджпутаны. Как скромный кули, образованный правитель спрятался в долине Кулу. Под плащом простого рабочего он скрыл свою личность, но его огромная эрудиция не дала ему остаться незамеченным. Свет его справедливости и знаний освещал всех его соседей. Люди догадались, что необычный человек появился среди них, и они по собственной воле стали считать Нарасимху своим раджой. Развалины замка Нарасимхи до сих пор еще стоят в Наггаре, а изображение героя воздвигнуто под старым деодаром. В соответствии с легендами, Нарасимха охраняет долину Кулу. И проклятие тому, кто вызовет справедливый гнев героя-раджи. Как величественный белобородый пророк, он, говорят, посещает свою страну ночью, и многие видели его и были благословлены правителем <...> Теперь он будет охранять Урусвати, наш Гималайский Исследовательский институт!

И над изображением Нарасимхи возвышается белая вершина Гуру-Гури Дхар – путь Духовного Учителя»[29].

У Рериха есть картина «Гуру-Гури Дхар». На ней изображен Учитель, тесно связанный и сотрудничавший с Рерихами в создании Живой Этики. Махатма, Великая Душа, он жил когда-то в Кулу и не раз проходил по ней. Он оставил по себе легенды, в основе которых – историческая реальность о Великом Учителе. Энергетика его мысли ощущается в древней долине и до сих пор притягивает паломников и тех, кто хотя бы раз побывал в ней. Мысли наших великих соотечественников, Рерихов, оставили также свои следы. Когда-то в древности для строительства храма опытный и знающий жрец, умевший хорошо ориентироваться в тонкой энергетике, выбирал особое место. И восприятие такой энергетики не только позволяло совершать какой-либо религиозный ритуал, но и создавало в молящихся необходимый настрой, помогающий постигнуть духовные, невидимые явления. Как правило, место для храма бывает красивым. Исключительно красива и долина Кулу, где расположен Институт Гималайских исследований. Здесь энергетика Красоты сливается с тонкой энергетикой великих и высоких мыслей, и в результате возникает особое творческое поле, которое не раз в своей работе ощущали ученые, работавшие в Институте, и которое до сих пор дает о себе знать особым настроением и легкостью дыхания. «Когда вы видите минеральные краски гор, когда исследуете огромные гейзеры, полные различных минеральных солей, когда вы видите все типы горячих источников, вы понимаете характер изобилия этой части мира, которая еще не тронута и являлась свидетельницей столь многих космических катаклизмов. Это и есть такое место. Это уникальное место для многих научных исследований. Здесь вы чувствуете праздник знаний и красоты»[30], – писал Н.К. Рерих. И еще: «Если бы кто-нибудь задался целью исторически просмотреть всемирное устремление к Гималаям, то получилось бы необыкновенно знаменательное исследование. Действительно, если от нескольких тысяч лет тому назад просмотреть всю притягательную силу этих высот, то, действительно, можно понять, почему Гималаи имеют прозвище “несравненных”. Сколько незапамятных Знаков соединено с этой горной страной! Даже в самые темные времена средневековья, даже удаленные страны мыслили о прекрасной Индии, которая кульминировалась в народных воображениях, конечно, сокровенно таинственными снеговыми великанами.

С.Н. Рерих. Наггар. Кулу. 1938
С.Н. Рерих. Наггар. Кулу. 1938
Попробуем мысленно сообразить все те прекраснейшие легенды, которые могли зародиться только на Гималаях. При этом, прежде всего, будем поражены изумительным разнообразием этих наследий. Правда, это богатство произойдет от многих пламенных наслоений, станет роскошнее от щедрости многих тысячелетий, увенчается подвигами лучших искателей истины. Все это так. Но и для этих вершинных подвигов требуется окружающее великолепие, а что же может быть величественнее, нежели непревзойденные горы со всеми их несказанными сияниями, со всем неизреченным многообразием»[31].

Сама долина Кулу и примыкающие к ней горные районы были источником самых разнообразных знаний. «Было отмечено, – писал Н.К. Рерих, – что электрические и магнитные явления особенно выражены на этих высотах. Последние обеспечивают исключительные возможности для изучения особых токов, и можно представить, какие новые исследования могли быть проведены здесь нашим великим физиком Милликаном в продолжение его недавних чудесных открытий.

Замечательно, как вся собранная информация увеличивает важность этих мест, где плодородие почвы сочетается с необычным феноменом высот и историческим героическим прошлым»[32].

Этот гималайский район открывал самые богатые возможности для изысканий в ботанике и зоологии, археологии, лингвистике, традиционной медицине и ряде самых неожиданных направлений науки.

СТРАНИЦЫ  123Примечания|Публикации|Зал Кулу|Научные исследования в «Урусвати» на современном этапе








































Н.К. Рерих. Гуга Чохан. 1933